OPS Professional Development Opportunities

OPS Professional Development Opportunities

Fall 2020 Cohorts

Due to COVID-19, all offerings will be conducted online.

In accordance with MHC/OPS’s commitment to offering the best learning environments and practices, participants must attend sessions fully and be engaged throughout the learning experience in order to receive a stipend.

Please review the complete Virtual Offerings Program Requirements, Registration Policies, and Stipend Policies before registering.

View Policies

New Offerings

Building Student Resilience
Fall Cohort (3 Sessions)
Tuesday, October 27, November 17, and December 8, 2020
5:30-8:00 p.m.

Learn More


Reconstructing Curriculum: Social Studies Advanced Pedagogy
Fall Cohort (4 sessions)*
Wednesday, October 7, Thursday, October 22, Thursday, November 5, and Tuesday, November 24, 2020
5:30-7:30 p.m.
*Prerequisite: This offering is only for OPS classroom teachers, with an emphasis towards teachers of Social Studies, Language Arts, English and similar subjects who have already completed a Reconstructing Curriculum offering.

Learn More


Story Circles: Connecting in the Digital Age
Fall Cohort (3 sessions)
Wednesday, October 14, Thursday, November 19, and Tuesday, December 8, 2020
5:00-7:00 p.m.

Learn More


Story Circles: Promoting Equitable Engagement
Fall Cohort (3 sessions)
Tuesday, October 6, November 10, and December 1, 2020
5:00-7:00 p.m.

Learn More

Additional Offerings

Becoming Equity Influencers™
Fall Cohort (3 Sessions)
Wednesday, October 7, November 4, and December 2, 2020
5:00-7:00 p.m.

Learn More


Changing the Narrative About Black and Brown Boys
Fall Cohort (4 Sessions)
Thursday, October 1, October 15, November 5, and December 3, 2020
5:00-7:00 p.m.

Learn More


Gender Intersectionality
Fall Cohort (3 Sessions)*
Wednesday, October 14, November 11, and December 9, 2020
5:00–7:00 p.m
*Prerequisite: Must have taken at least one other MHC offering before registering

Learn More


Immersions About Place
North Omaha Cohort (1 Immersion Day, 1 Evening Reflection)
Immersion Day
Saturday, October 3, 2020
9:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.

Evening Reflection
Thursday, October 8, 2020
5:00-7:30 p.m.

Learn More


Increase Student Engagement Through Absent Narratives
Fall Cohort (4 Sessions)
Thursdays, October 1, October 8, October 15 and Tuesday, October 13, 2020
5:30-7:30 p.m.

Learn More


Innocent Classroom 1
Fall Cohort (1 Immersion Session* and 4 Evening Sessions)

Immersion Session
Monday, October 12, 2020
5:00-7:00 p.m.
*Attendance at the Immersion Session is required in order to continue with the cohort

Evening Sessions
Monday, October 26, November 9, November 16, and November 30, 2020
5:00–6:30 p.m.

Learn More


Innocent Classroom 2: In Practice
Fall Cohort (4 Sessions)*
Tuesday, October 13, October 27, November 10, and November 17, 2020
5:00-6:30 p.m.
*Prerequisite: Innocent Classroom 1

Learn More


Innocent Classroom: Labs
Fall Cohort (4 Sessions)*
Wednesday, October 14, October 28, November 11, and November 18, 2020
5:00-6:30 p.m.
*Prerequisite: Innocent Classroom 1 and Innocent Classroom 2: In Practice

Learn More


Personal Power in the Workplace
2020-2021 Cohort (3 Sessions)*
Wednesday, September 30, November 18, 2020 and February 10, 2021
6:00-8:00 p.m.
*Prerequisite: Only open to OPS classroom teachers and paraprofessionals

Learn More


Reconstructing Curriculum: Exposing the Hidden Narratives in Curriculum
Fall Cohort (4 sessions)*
Monday, October 5, Wednesday, October 21, Wednesday, November 4, and Monday, November 23, 2020
5:30-7:30 p.m.
*Prerequisite: This offering is only for OPS classroom teachers, with an emphasis towards teachers of Social Studies, Language Arts, English and similar subjects.

Learn More


Secrets to Motivating Students
Fall Cohort (3 Sessions)
Thursday, October 29, November 19, and December 10, 2020
5:30-8:00 p.m.

Learn More

Questions?